Star Princess
Sphere class · Alaska, Caribbean & Bahamas
Transferred from Fincantieri’s Monfalcone shipyard in August 2025, Star Princess is the second Sphere-class ship and Princess Cruises’ newest ship. Building on Sun Princess, it features improvements including an enhanced casino area. In summer 2026, it will begin its first Alaska season from Seattle, then move from Florida to the Caribbean in winter. It offers a more direct answer to travelers who want to see Alaska on the newest ship.
Current position (external site)View on VesselFinder (IMO 9863120)External site. Position information has not been checked by Cruise Atlas.
For travelers from Japan
A guide to public baths, Japanese food and language support, payment in yen, smoking, dress codes and power outlets, based on available official and other sources. Details may vary by itinerary and season. Check the official website for current information.
Similar facilities, such as a thermal suite
Some Japanese language support
Payment in yen not accepted
English text in preparation.
Official: confirmed by the cruise line or another official source / Secondary source: confirmed by other sources / Estimated: inferred by Cruise Atlas / Not stated: no information found in official sources
At a glance
What is included and what costs extra
- Meals (main restaurants)Included
- AlcoholExtra charge
- GratuitiesExtra charge
- Wi‑FiExtra charge
- Specialty diningExtra charge
- Shore excursionsExtra charge
The base fare (Princess Standard) includes meals such as main dining and buffet only. Princess Plus ($65 per person per day) adds a beverage package (up to $15 per drink), Wi-Fi (one device), crew appreciation (gratuities), and casual dining benefits. Princess Premier ($100 per person per day) further adds four-device Wi-Fi, unlimited specialty restaurant dining, free photos, priority access, and other benefits. Specialty restaurants typically cost an additional $60–$105 when purchased separately (the plan is shared across the company, so it is the same as on Sun Princess).
- Extra chargeDrinks (one beer)$7-$7.50 (+18% service charge)
- Extra chargeSoft drinks and water$3–$4 (+18% service charge)
- Extra chargeDrink packagePrincess Plus ($65/day) includes a drink package covering cocktails, beer, wine, and similar drinks up to $15. Purchased separately, it costs $64.99/day plus 18%. Premier ($100/day) includes premium drinks up to $20 (the same fleet-wide plan as Sun Princess).
- Extra chargeWi‑FiAbout $175-$315 for 7 nights when purchased on its own.
- Extra chargeGratuities (automatic service charge)$18/day for standard cabins; $19/day for mini-suites, Club Class, and Reserve; $20/day for suites
- Extra chargeSpa (60 minutes)$179+ (50-minute menu as a guide; the listed price of a standalone 60-minute menu is unconfirmed)
- Extra chargeLaundryCoin-operated self-service laundry ($3-$5 each for washing and drying, detergent included). Professional cleaning and pressing cost extra. Captain's Circle Elite members receive some services free.
- Shore excursionsShore excursions cost extra depending on the content and port. Additional purchases can be made through the advance booking website or onboard desk.
Prices are shown in the onboard currency; no currency conversion is applied.
Boarding, atmosphere, and links
- Japan departures: No
- Home ports: Fort Lauderdale (Florida, USA; Port Everglades; home port for Caribbean cruises; in service from November 2025 onward), Seattle (Washington, USA; Pier 91; home port for the maiden Alaska Inside Passage season, May-September 2026)
- Departure ports: Fort Lauderdale, Seattle (Pier 91), Vancouver (used as an arrival port for a one-way sailing at the end of the 2026 Alaska season, then heading south along the West Coast), Barcelona (temporary embarkation and disembarkation port only for the October 2025 Mediterranean maiden voyage)
- All ages
- Like its sister ship Sun Princess, it has experiential, art-focused venues such as The Dome (a transformable dome lookout), Spellbound by Magic Castle and Love by Britto, and it is positioned as an 'evolved version' of the Sphere class whose details were refined after entering service, with an expanded non-smoking casino, a newly added sports court (pickleball and basketball), O'Malley's Irish pub and extra seating at Love by Britto. The main dining has also been reorganized into 2 dining rooms, Aurora and Celestial.
- The October 2025 maiden Mediterranean voyage from Barcelona attracted an internationally diverse clientele. Caribbean cruises from Fort Lauderdale from November 2025 onward mainly attract families, while the maiden Alaska season from Seattle from May to September 2026 mainly attracts European and American guests across a broad age range seeking spectacular scenic cruises. As a recently launched newbuild, it also attracts many first-time cruisers.
The second Princess Cruises ship to use LNG (liquefied natural gas) as its main fuel (the first was Sun Princess). LNG is said to greatly reduce SOx, NOx, and PM emissions compared with conventional fuel. Shore-power (cold-ironing) connections are installed on both sides, allowing the engines to stop and switch to shore power in port. Propulsion uses two Azipod electric propulsion units and controllable-pitch bow thrusters. It has the same specifications as Sun Princess.
Ship character
- • Seeing Alaska on the newest ship
- • Multigenerational family travel
- • Large ships with latest facilities
- • Travelers avoiding cold regions
- • Travelers seeking a relaxed small-ship experience
Cruise stories and videos on external sites
5 linksThese are articles and videos by other publishers, not Cruise Atlas. Their content is their own and has not been reviewed by us. Links open in a new tab.
- Personal blogEnglishStar Princess Full Ship Tour · What We Loved and What We Didn't
lidohoppers.com · Link checked Oct 4, 2026
- ArticleEnglishStar Princess Trip Report: Princess Cays, Food, and Nightly Entertainment
cruiseradio.net · Link checked Oct 5, 2026
- ArticleEnglishWe Spent 96 Hours on the New Star Princess - Is It Worth It?
eatsleepcruise.com · Link checked Oct 4, 2026
- YouTubeEnglishEmbarkation EXCITEMENT! Boarding the Second-Ever Star Princess Cruise! | Vlog Episode 1
youtube.com · Sailed Oct 15, 2025 · Link checked Oct 5, 2026
- Personal blogEnglishAffiliate links disclosedStar Princess Cruise Ship Review: Pros, Cons & What to Know Before You Sail
findingjillian.com · Link checked Oct 4, 2026
Sources
- Officialprincess.com
- Officialprincess.com (2)
- Secondary sourceseatrade-cruise.com
- Officialprincess.com (3)
- Officialprincess.com (4)
- Officialprincess.com (5)
- Officialprincess.com (6)
- Officialprincess.com (7)
- Officialprincess.com (8)
- Secondary sourcefincantieri.com
- Encyclopediaen.wikipedia.org
- Officialprincess.com (9)
- Officialprincess.com (10)
- Secondary sourceprincesscruisesblog.com
- Secondary sourceeatsleepcruise.com
- Secondary sourceeatsleepcruise.com (2)
- Secondary sourcetravelagewest.com
- Secondary sourceprnewswire.com
- Secondary sourcecruisetipstv.com
- Secondary sourceprnewswire.com (2)
- Secondary sourcecruiseradio.net
- Officialprincess.com (11)
- Secondary sourcecruiseindustrynews.com
- Secondary sourcecruisehive.com
- Secondary sourceautoevolution.com
- Secondary sourcethedigitalglobetrotter.com
Source: Wikipedia “Star Princess (2024)” (CC BY-SA 4.0)
Cabins by category
| Cabins | Size | Occupancy and beds | Features | Links |
|---|---|---|---|---|
Interior Stateroom The same onboard smallest and least expensive category as Sun Princess (about 136-145 sq ft). There is no window, but it includes a glass-door shower booth, flat-panel TV, refrigerator, digital safe, and other basic amenities shared with other categories. Barrier-free cabins and solo cabins for single occupancy are also provided. The number of cabins is roughly the same as on Sun Princess, but the official detailed breakdown could not be individually confirmed as of July 2026. | 12.6–13.5 m² (136–145 ft²) | 2-4 people Princess Luxury Bed (queen-size/twin-size available). Some cabins accommodate 3–4 guests with an added upper berth. | Check cabin location on the official deck plan | |
Premium Oceanview Stateroom A cabin without a balcony but with a large picture window (non-opening) offering sea views (about 200 square feet). Includes a refrigerator, flat-panel TV, and bathroom with shower. Uses the common Sphere-class design and is almost identical to Sun Princess. | 18–19 m² (194–205 ft²) | 2-4 people Queen bed (convertible to twins). | Window | Check cabin location on the official deck plan |
Balcony Stateroom In addition to standard balconies (approximately 200-210 square feet), lower-priced "Cove Balconies" near the waterline are also offered. Princess's official announcement lists Star Princess with 2,157 cabins and 100 connecting cabins, nearly the same level as Sun Princess (2,162 cabins). The accurate breakdown by individual category had not been confirmed as of July 2026, so the Sun Princess figures are provisionally carried over. 949 cabins | 19–20 m² (205–215 ft²) | 2-4 people Queen bed (convertible to twins). | BalconyConnecting | Check cabin location on the official deck plan |
Mini-Suite / Cabana Mini-Suite A mini-suite category of approximately 303–400 square feet with a living area, designed similarly to Sun Princess. Princess's official announcement (October 2024) also contains wording suggesting that the total number of suites on Star Princess may differ from Sun Princess, but reliable official cabin figures could not be confirmed as of July 2026, so the Sun Princess figures are retained. 389 cabins / Primarily on Decks 10-17 (some are eligible for the Sanctuary Collection). | 28–37 m² (301–398 ft²) | 2-4 people Queen bed (convertible to twin) + sofa bed. | Balcony | Check cabin location on the official deck plan |
Signature Owner's / Penthouse / Sky Suite The Signature Collection, using the same design as Sun Princess with Penthouse, Owner's Suite, and Sky Suite categories. The largest Signature Sky Suites are among the ship's largest cabins and include 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. 50 cabins / Primarily on the upper levels of Decks 10-17 (eligible for the Sanctuary Collection and close to the Sanctuary Club on Deck 18). | 59–117 m² (635–1,259 ft²) | 2-6 people King bed (convertible to twin). The top-tier Signature Sky Suite has 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. | BalconyConcierge | Check cabin location on the official deck plan |
Approximate figures from official and reliable sources. Cabins vary by ship, category, and sailing.Links generally lead to official pages; some have not been verified.
Families, adults-only areas, and practical information
- • Splash Zone — A family water-play area with multiple features, including pop jets and water sculptures. The same concept as Sun Princess.
- • Camp Discovery: Firefly Park / Neon Grove / The Underground — Three dedicated age-group facilities (infants to 7 years, 8–12 years, and 13–17 years). Free programs for children and teens are available throughout. There is no paid nursery exclusively for infants and toddlers. The same concept as Sun Princess.
- • The Dome — A glass-enclosed retractable dome inspired by the white architecture of Santorini, the first of its kind on a ship (forward on Deck 17). It is the same type as on Sun Princess, but several practical guides to Star Princess state that the daytime pool area is an adults-only pool for ages 18 and over (the Sun Princess data does not state an age limit). At night it converts to a hydraulic stage made by TAIT Towers, where an original acrobatic show by Cirque Éloize is presented free of charge (families can watch this show). It also has the Cascade Bar, with a waterfall.
- • Princess Casino — One of the largest casinos in Princess's history, adjacent to the Piazza on Deck 8. According to Princess's official announcement (October 2024), Star Princess has 68 more slot machines in its nonsmoking area than Sun Princess, and its expanded nonsmoking gaming space, the first in the fleet, is a Star Princess-specific enhancement.
- • The Sanctuary Club — A top-deck sundeck exclusively for guests aged 16 and over, with a private pool, jacuzzi, lounge chairs, and dedicated bar. Sanctuary Collection guests have dedicated access; others may be able to use it by purchasing a day pass. The same concept as Sun Princess.
- Onboard currency
- USD
- Gratuities
- Charged automatically to your onboard account for each day under the name "Crew Appreciation." Prepayment is also possible. Guests on Standard fares are charged automatically every day, but the amount can be adjusted at Guest Services (it cannot be abolished, but you can ask to increase or reduce it). If you have purchased the Princess Plus or Princess Premier package, this Crew Appreciation is included in the package price and is not billed separately. Also, from March 2026 the service charge on food and beverage purchases was raised from 18% to 20%.
- Payment
- Cashless onboard
- Voltage
- 110V/60Hz (North American specification is standard; on some ships, 220V European sockets are also provided)
- Formal nights
- They are scheduled according to cruise length, at roughly 1 for every 4 to 6 nights. Short cruises of 1 to 4 days have none; typically there is 1 for 5 to 6 days and about 2 for 7 to 13 days.
- Medical facilities
- Doctors and nurses are on board 24 hours a day, but the doctors are independent contractors and consultations are charged. As a guide, a consultation during regular hours is said to cost around $100, after-hours visits more ($165 or so), and cabin visits more still (about $205) in some cases. Travel insurance cannot be used directly on board; the charge is first billed to your onboard account, and after disembarking you submit the receipt to your own insurer to claim a refund.
- Bringing items onboard
- Each passenger aged 21 or over (the legal drinking age) may bring only 1 bottle (750 ml) of wine or champagne on board, and no corkage fee is charged for drinking it in your cabin. Bringing beer and spirits is prohibited, and they are confiscated if found. A corkage fee of $20 per bottle applies for additional bottles brought on board or for bottles opened in public areas such as restaurants, regardless of the number of bottles. Alcohol purchased at ports of call or in duty-free shops is held by the ship until the day of disembarkation.
- Mobile and connectivity
- With "Cellular at Sea," which uses satellite communication (via Wireless Maritime Services), regular mobile phone use is possible at sea if your carrier has a roaming agreement. However, maritime roaming tends to be expensive at about $2 to $6 per MB, so it is advisable to check in advance whether your carrier offers a package for sea cruises. If you subscribe to MedallionNet Wi-Fi, you can use data-based calling apps such as WhatsApp, FaceTime Audio and Wi-Fi calling, and going through Wi-Fi is a realistic alternative if you want to keep communication costs down.
- Japanese support
- Staff PartialMenus PartialAnnouncements Partial
Dining
A fixed-seating main dining room on Deck 6, with an approximate capacity of 910 guests. Enjoy a rotating menu each evening with the same table and waiter in a traditional style. On Sun Princess, it was the three-level Horizons brand, while on Star Princess, Deck 6 is named Aurora and Deck 7 Celestial.
Hours: Breakfast 7:00-9:30, lunch on sea days 11:30-13:00, and dinner mainly 17:00-21:00.
Flexible dining on Deck 7, offering reservations or walk-in access, with an approximate capacity of 601 guests. Together with Aurora, it forms the two main dining rooms included in the fare. Stern-facing windows provide expansive views.
Hours: Mainly breakfast and dinner (flexible Anytime Dining; reservations accepted and walk-ins welcome)
Complimentary restaurant exclusively for Sanctuary Collection guests (suites, some mini-suites, and some balcony cabins). Located aft on Deck 8, with the same concept as on Sun Princess.
Hours: Breakfast 7:00-9:30, lunch 11:30-13:00, and dinner mainly 17:00-21:00. No reservation or waiting time required.
Complimentary buffet on Deck 9 with multiple stations, including Asian, Mexican, Italian, carving, and dessert options. Operated under the same concept as on Sun Princess.
Hours: 6:00-23:00, approximate (breakfast, lunch, and dinner).
Cafe on Deck 9. Light meals such as sandwiches, flatbreads, and desserts are included in the fare, but specialty coffee costs extra without a beverage package.
Hours: 6:00-24:00, approximate.
New coffee and bakery shop in the Piazza on Deck 7. Pastries and other light meals are included in the fare, while coffee drinks cost extra without a beverage package. This is a Star Princess-specific venue, or one confirmed additionally, that was not explicitly listed in the Sun Princess data.
Hours: 6:00-late night, approximate.
Complimentary counter-service light meals on the Deck 17 pool deck, with a resort-style casual atmosphere.
Hours: 11:00-21:00.
Free casual dining facing the outdoor promenade on Deck 9, with stations and bars on both sides of the ship, where guests can enjoy light meals while looking out at the sea.
Hours: 11:00-18:00, approximate.
A new free venue on Deck 9 that uses the aft space of The Eatery (the buffet) and, in the evening only, converts into an American comfort-food diner serving a la carte dishes. It did not exist in the Sun Princess data and is unique to Star Princess.
Hours: Dinner only, 17:00-22:00, approximate (operates as Eataly during breakfast and lunch hours).
A pizzeria on Deck 9. It corresponds to Sun Princess's "Alfredo GiGi's," but is renamed "Alfredo's Pizzeria" on Star Princess. Offers specialty pizzas supervised by pizzaiolo Tony Gemignani. A la carte items are included in the fare; only the 3-course set costs extra.
Hours: 11:00-21:00.
A newly added Irish pub on Deck 7, featuring live music and interactive entertainment. According to a Princess announcement (October 2024), it was designed with 32 more seats than Sun Princess, making it a Star Princess-specific enhancement. This feature was not present in the Sun Princess data.
Hours: Lunch and dinner (detailed hours not confirmed)
A seafood restaurant supervised by chef Rudi Sodamin on Deck 7, sharing the same concept as on Sun Princess. Lobster tails, oysters, caviar, and other items are available for an additional charge.
- Shrimp cocktail
- Seafaring stew
- Calamari (fried squid)
An Italian restaurant on Deck 8 serving handmade pasta and meat dishes. Although it shares the same concept as on Sun Princess, a collaboration dinner with Frescobaldi Winery ($99) is confirmed as a Star Princess feature.
- Burrata e prosciutto
- Seafood linguine
- Ossobuco alla Milanese
- Tiramisu
Princess's signature steakhouse on Deck 7, centered on premium beef cuts and seafood. It follows the same concept as on Sun Princess.
- Crab cake
- Various premium beef from Four Six Ranches
- Baked Alaska
An Edo-style sushi and sashimi restaurant on Deck 8, supervised by sushi chef Makoto Okuwa. It follows the same concept as on Sun Princess.
- Edomae sushi omakase (Makoto Experience)$60
- Nigiri sushi (à la carte)
On Deck 7, this family-style meat restaurant offers an 8-course menu created in collaboration with renowned butcher Dario Cecchini. It follows the same concept as Sun Princess.
- 8-course meat menu (with bread, Chianti wine, and olive oil cake)
Live-performance dining on Deck 8, where the chef prepares teppanyaki dishes in front of guests. It follows the same concept as on Sun Princess.
- Filet mignon
- Black tiger shrimp
- Sauteed scallops
- Teriyaki chicken
Japanese-style hot pot served in the same venue as Umai Teppanyaki on Deck 8, allowing guests to choose their preferred ingredients. It follows the same concept as Sun Princess.
- Hot pot course with a choice of seafood and meat ingredients
A highly artistic creative dining venue created in collaboration with artist Romero Britto and chef Rudi Sodamin, located aft on Deck 17. A Princess announcement (October 2024) states that Star Princess was designed with 20 more seats than Sun Princess.
- Chef Rudi Sodamin's prix fixe menu (seasonal changes)$60
A special course served to a small number of guests while the executive chef guides them through the galley. It follows the same concept as on Sun Princess.
- Chef-selected multicourse dinner (includes kitchen tour)$105
Facilities and activities
A glass-enclosed retractable dome inspired by the white architecture of Santorini, the first of its kind on a ship (forward on Deck 17). It is the same type as on Sun Princess, but several practical guides to Star Princess state that the daytime pool area is an adults-only pool for ages 18 and over (the Sun Princess data does not state an age limit). At night it converts to a hydraulic stage made by TAIT Towers, where an original acrobatic show by Cirque Éloize is presented free of charge (families can watch this show). It also has the Cascade Bar, with a waterfall.
A main theater with a reconfigurable layout, spanning Decks 7-8, with seating for roughly 850 or more guests. Free original production shows, hosted events, stand-up comedy, and movie screenings. The same concept as Sun Princess.
A spherical, open-plan atrium spanning Decks 7–9. This multipurpose space has 360-degree views and a movable large LED screen, with Bellini's Cocktail Bar, Crooners, International Café, Alfredo's Pizzeria, the guest services desk, and more around it. The same concept as Sun Princess.
One of the largest casinos in Princess's history, adjacent to the Piazza on Deck 8. According to Princess's official announcement (October 2024), Star Princess has 68 more slot machines in its nonsmoking area than Sun Princess, and its expanded nonsmoking gaming space, the first in the fleet, is a Star Princess-specific enhancement.
A top-deck sundeck exclusively for guests aged 16 and over, with a private pool, jacuzzi, lounge chairs, and dedicated bar. Sanctuary Collection guests have dedicated access; others may be able to use it by purchasing a day pass. The same concept as Sun Princess.
A family water-play area with multiple features, including pop jets and water sculptures. The same concept as Sun Princess.
A new upper-deck sports court for pickleball and basketball. Princess's official October 2024 announcement introduced it as a completely new recreation area not found on Sun Princess, making it a Star Princess-specific expansion alongside the adjacent jogging track, splash pad, and shaded rest areas.
An upper-deck cantilevered observation spot with sloping glass panels extending from the ship's side. It is expected to carry over from Sun Princess as a shared Sphere-class architectural element, but individual confirmation for Star Princess has not been completed. The planned zipline-style Rollglider attraction and Coastal Climb facility were canceled on Sun Princess after certification was not obtained, and no primary source confirms their introduction on Star Princess.
A paid magic bar recreating The Magic Castle, the legendary magicians' club in Los Angeles. Following Discovery Princess and Enchanted Princess, the Star Princess version has been refreshed with a new production themed around the golden age of magic and a tribute to legendary magician Cardini (Richard Valentine Pitchford), making this a Star Princess-specific difference.
A spa facility with massage, facial, and hair salon services. The paid thermal suite The Enclave is also available. The same concept as Sun Princess.
A gym with cardio machines and weight-training equipment. Some group classes and personal training sessions cost extra. The same concept as Sun Princess.
A free jogging and walking track on the upper decks, expanded alongside the new sports court.
Three dedicated age-group facilities (infants to 7 years, 8–12 years, and 13–17 years). Free programs for children and teens are available throughout. There is no paid nursery exclusively for infants and toddlers. The same concept as Sun Princess.
A cocktail bar overseen by a mixologist, serving creative cocktails in a different show-bar format each night. The same concept as Sun Princess.
A piano bar along the Deck 8 Piazza, known for classic cocktails, martinis, and live piano performances.
A classic maritime-style bar rooted in Princess tradition. The same concept as Sun Princess.
An outdoor theater using the large screen on the pool deck. The same concept as Sun Princess.
An onboard shopping area selling branded goods, duty-free items, souvenirs, and more. Browsing and entry are free. The same concept as Sun Princess.