Cruise AtlasWorld cruise atlas
All ships
Princess CruisesLarge

Sapphire Princess

Grand · refurbished 2025 · Japan & Asia

A Grand-class ship in service since 2004, a large vessel of about 115,900 GT with room for roughly 2,670 guests and 18 decks. Her sister is Diamond Princess. A two-week dry dock in Portland in autumn 2025 added the sushi restaurant Makoto Ocean and the steakhouse Crown Grill. She also has the adults-only Sanctuary and outdoor Movies Under the Stars. A Japan season from the Tokyo area is planned for March to December 2027, and she also sails to Mexico, South America, Europe and Canada.

Adult-orientedFirst-time cruise friendlySenior-friendly
115,875 GT
Gross tonnage
2,670
Guests
1,100
Crew
18
Decks
1,337
Cabins
290.17 m (952 ft)
Length
2004
Year built
9228186
IMO number

Current position (external site)View on VesselFinder (IMO 9228186)External site. Position information has not been checked by Cruise Atlas.

For travelers from Japan

A guide to public baths, Japanese food and language support, payment in yen, smoking, dress codes and power outlets, based on available official and other sources. Details may vary by itinerary and season. Check the official website for current information.

Public bath
Estimated

Similar facilities, such as a thermal suite

Checked Oct 9, 2026
Japanese food
Secondary source

Unknown

Checked Oct 9, 2026Source: princess.com
Japanese language support
Estimated

Some Japanese language support

Checked Oct 9, 2026
Payment in yen
Estimated

Payment in yen not accepted

Checked Oct 9, 2026
Smoking
Estimated

Smoking in designated areas only

Checked Oct 9, 2026
Dress code
Estimated

Formal nights

Checked Oct 9, 2026
Power outlets
Not stated

Not stated in official sources

Unconfirmed

Checked Oct 9, 2026

English text in preparation.

Official: confirmed by the cruise line or another official source / Secondary source: confirmed by other sources / Estimated: inferred by Cruise Atlas / Not stated: no information found in official sources

What is included and what costs extra

Onboard costs (original currency)
  • Extra chargeDrinks (one beer)—
  • Extra chargeDrink packagePrincess Plus includes up to 15 drinks per day, such as beer, wine, cocktails and soft drinks priced at $15 or less each (specialty coffee and tea do not count toward the drink limit) (1-device Wi-Fi included). Princess Premier raises the per-drink limit to $20 and lets you enjoy almost unlimited drinks including premium brands (4-device Wi-Fi included). If you buy the beverage package on its own without a bundle, the guide is about $85 per day plus a 20% service charge (varies by purchase channel and timing).
  • UnknownWi‑FiPrincess Plus includes MedallionNet Max (high-speed connection) for 1 device, and Princess Premier includes it for 4 devices. If you buy on its own without a package, MedallionNet Classic is about $24.99 per day per device as a guide (bought in advance), and multi-day passes are said to be about $65 to $100 if bought in advance and about $70 to $105 if bought onboard. Loyalty members at Platinum level and above receive a 50% discount when purchasing.
  • Extra chargeGratuities (automatic service charge)$18/day for standard cabins; $19/day for mini-suites, Club Class, and Reserve; $20/day for suites
  • UnknownLaundryEach ship has self-service laundries that accept coins or MedallionPay. Washing and drying each cost about $2 to 3 per load as a guide, and detergent about $1.25 (varies by source). Irons and ironing boards are free to use. Staffed full-service options (finishing, dry cleaning) can also be ordered for an additional fee, and top-tier loyalty members (Captain's Circle Elite) get regular-finish laundry service free.
  • Shore excursionsExtra; varies by port

Prices are shown in the onboard currency; no currency conversion is applied.

Ship character

Families
3
Adults
4
Luxury
3
First-time cruisers
5
Entertainment
3
Dining
4
Japanese-language support
5
Great for
  • • Japan-based cruises in 2027
  • • Travelers who want a large ship's facilities
  • • Those who like a quiet adults-only area
Less suited to
  • • Travelers who prefer a small ship
  • • Travelers seeking a brand-new ship
About this data
Confirmation: Unverified

Sources

Source: Wikipedia “Sapphire Princess” (CC BY-SA 4.0)

Cabins by category

CabinsSizeOccupancy and bedsFeaturesLinks
Suites with private balconies
28 cabins
—
—
Balcony: YesWindow: YesConcierge: UnknownConnecting: UnknownSolo: UnknownAccessible: Unknown
View official site
Family suites with interconnecting cabins
2 cabins
—
—
Balcony: YesWindow: YesConcierge: UnknownConnecting: YesSolo: UnknownAccessible: Unknown
View official site
Mini-suites with private balconies
186 cabins
—
—
Balcony: YesWindow: YesConcierge: UnknownConnecting: UnknownSolo: UnknownAccessible: Unknown
View official site
Balcony cabins
522 cabins
—
—
Balcony: YesWindow: YesConcierge: UnknownConnecting: UnknownSolo: UnknownAccessible: Unknown
View official site
Ocean view cabins
216 cabins
—
—
Balcony: NoWindow: YesConcierge: UnknownConnecting: UnknownSolo: UnknownAccessible: Unknown
View official site
Inside cabins
366 cabins
—
—
Balcony: NoWindow: NoConcierge: UnknownConnecting: UnknownSolo: UnknownAccessible: Unknown
View official site

Approximate figures from official and reliable sources. Cabins vary by ship, category, and sailing.Links generally lead to official pages; some have not been verified.

Families, adults-only areas, and practical information

Adults-only areas
  • • The Sanctuary
Practical information (line-wide)
Onboard currency
USD
Gratuities
Charged automatically to your onboard account for each day under the name "Crew Appreciation." Prepayment is also possible. Guests on Standard fares are charged automatically every day, but the amount can be adjusted at Guest Services (it cannot be abolished, but you can ask to increase or reduce it). If you have purchased the Princess Plus or Princess Premier package, this Crew Appreciation is included in the package price and is not billed separately. Also, from March 2026 the service charge on food and beverage purchases was raised from 18% to 20%.
Payment
Cashless onboard
Voltage
110V/60Hz (North American specification is standard; on some ships, 220V European sockets are also provided)
Formal nights
They are scheduled according to cruise length, at roughly 1 for every 4 to 6 nights. Short cruises of 1 to 4 days have none; typically there is 1 for 5 to 6 days and about 2 for 7 to 13 days.
Medical facilities
Doctors and nurses are on board 24 hours a day, but the doctors are independent contractors and consultations are charged. As a guide, a consultation during regular hours is said to cost around $100, after-hours visits more ($165 or so), and cabin visits more still (about $205) in some cases. Travel insurance cannot be used directly on board; the charge is first billed to your onboard account, and after disembarking you submit the receipt to your own insurer to claim a refund.
Bringing items onboard
Each passenger aged 21 or over (the legal drinking age) may bring only 1 bottle (750 ml) of wine or champagne on board, and no corkage fee is charged for drinking it in your cabin. Bringing beer and spirits is prohibited, and they are confiscated if found. A corkage fee of $20 per bottle applies for additional bottles brought on board or for bottles opened in public areas such as restaurants, regardless of the number of bottles. Alcohol purchased at ports of call or in duty-free shops is held by the ship until the day of disembarkation.
Mobile and connectivity
With "Cellular at Sea," which uses satellite communication (via Wireless Maritime Services), regular mobile phone use is possible at sea if your carrier has a roaming agreement. However, maritime roaming tends to be expensive at about $2 to $6 per MB, so it is advisable to check in advance whether your carrier offers a package for sea cruises. If you subscribe to MedallionNet Wi-Fi, you can use data-based calling apps such as WhatsApp, FaceTime Audio and Wi-Fi calling, and going through Wi-Fi is a realistic alternative if you want to keep communication costs down.
Japanese support
Staff PartialMenus PartialAnnouncements Partial

Dining

Included Included in the fare (no extra charge)
International / Pacific Moon / Santa Fe / Vivaldi dining rooms
Horizon Court
Trident Grill
Prego Pizzeria
International Cafe
Swirls
Extra charge Specialty dining (prices in the onboard currency)
Crown Grill$60 per person
Makoto Ocean$60 per person
Churrascaria Brazilian Grill
Alfredo's Pizzeria
Ultimate Balcony Dining

Facilities and activities

The SanctuaryExtra charge
SpaAdults only: YesFor children: Unknown

Itineraries on this ship